Raw Freedom Community  

Advertisement

Go Back   Raw Freedom Community > Sunny Raw Lifestyle > Living 'In The Raw'

Living 'In The Raw' The place to discuss All-Things-Raw! From transitioning to the Raw Food Diet, to equipment, special techniques and more.

Old 08-27-2007, 05:00 PM
Swallow

Question Buying Produce

I had a thought. I have been in to Kroger's now 3 days in a row and I see that organic produce is being pulled because magically A LOT is gone and I have a feeling there aren't too many college kids buying up produce. Would it be a good idea to talk to the store manager and tell him I have chemical sensitivites and basically have to have organic and since I'm a student I'm on a budget. I guess my point is, if they're pulling produce just because it has a small bruise or is a little wrinkly I don't mind at all. Do you think the manager would be ok with selling it to me on discount or is it against a health code or something? If this is a good idea, any suggestions for what to say to sound...grown up lol.
Old 08-28-2007, 08:00 AM
Swallow

It can't hurt to ask Dream. I asked at my local Giant what they did with the produce & fruits when it starts to go bad and was told that it is thrown away. I asked about buying it at a reduced rate but was told no. I don't know if they're afraid of being sued if you get sick or what but like I said, it can't hurt to ask about it. And they may be able to set some aside for you also so that you would be able to get what you need.
Old 08-28-2007, 08:41 AM
Meadowlark