Raw Freedom Community  

Advertisement

Go Back   Raw Freedom Community > Sunny Raw Lifestyle > Living 'In The Raw'

Living 'In The Raw' The place to discuss All-Things-Raw! From transitioning to the Raw Food Diet, to equipment, special techniques and more.

Old 09-05-2007, 06:40 AM
Hatchling

Weight Gain Eating Raw

I've gain weight on a 100% raw diet. HELP
Old 09-07-2007, 01:08 PM
Hummingbird - Caretaker

Hi,

I'm no expert on the matter, but I'd say it can happen due to a number of factors, including your metabolism and your ideal weight. Also, you can certainly put on weight if eating a lot of foods with a high fat content such as nuts, seeds and avocados.
Old 09-07-2007, 01:22 PM
Finch

From my research, I found lots of people gain weight from raw. I think that is why many people start looking into a low-fat raw diet.

I know when I first got Alissa Cohen's Book & DVD I told my husband -- "This is it! I can eat anything I want, as much as I want, as long as it is raw! I can eat desserts for breakfast -- and the whole damn pie if I want!!" That is seriously what I took away from all that she was saying. Maybe that is just wanted to hear, but I know things like that were said.

I now look at it very differently. Eating like that will make anyone with weight issues fat. High fat diet = fat person. (if your genes allow!) Plus, it isn't healthy to consume all that fat -- even if you don't gain weight.

This is just my 2 cents! I am certain that there are people on this board that gained weight on raw. I think Ginger weighed her heaviest ever on raw, if I remember correctly? There may be a thread about this somewhere! I will look!
Old 09-19-2007, 08:49 PM
Hatchling

Exclamation Hmmm...

I have Alissa Cohen's book & DVD and I do what she says and am losing. There's a huge difference in raw fats and cooked.

To be able to help this person, the first question I'd ask is "What are you eating?" And: "Are you 100% raw?" If not, that's the problem. It was for me.