Raw Freedom Community  

Advertisement

Go Back   Raw Freedom Community > Sunny Raw Lifestyle > Living 'In The Raw'

Living 'In The Raw' The place to discuss All-Things-Raw! From transitioning to the Raw Food Diet, to equipment, special techniques and more.

Old 02-10-2008, 03:19 PM
Hatchling

How do I make my buck stretch! I'm a poor student living an expensive lifestyle.

Hey guys. Im an art student that really doesn't have the kind of money to go out and by Medjools and Brazil Nuts everyday. I know you all have money saving tips up your sleeves ; ) and I was wondering if you'd be kind enough to share them with me.

What do you guys do in regards to more expensive items; Almond Butter, Dates, Nuts...

What to do in the Winter when the Farmer's Markets aren't happenin'...

How to make your food last longer without starving to death!?
Old 02-10-2008, 03:43 PM
Meadowlark

heres an extensive thread on the topic , link =

http://www.rawfoodtalk.com/showthrea...aw+on+a+budget

* bananas are always a biggy for me . and searching for good local buys on walnuts and almonds in bulk , or other type seeds to grind and put on salads or in smothies for protein / fat to burn on . then what ever green and whatever citrus fruit i can get at a good price thats fresh . then i drink water and feel im pretty much getting everything i need . besides supplimenting with brewers yeast for my B's . but check the thread link becauses there alot of good info .

welcome to site
Old 02-10-2008, 04:10 PM
Meadowlark

and if buy nuts in bulk always taste first before buying alot because you could get stuck with a bad / rancid batch .

and just a quick point on smoothies , you can get many seeds types (protien/fat/heavy fuel for energy) cheap like flax , sesame , sunflower .
so if you start off smoothie by grinding up like a third cup of them , then add water , some type greens , some type fruit youve a quick / simple / cheap / near complete staple to rely on .
Old 02-10-2008, 04:35 PM
Meadowlark